Tour of the Church (Part 13)


Above the Crucifix is the rose window. Traditionally, a rose window is a reminder of Our Lady, but the design and the coloured glass help us further. There are fourteen round lights in the window, and at the top, it is easy to recognise a crucifix, which speaks to us of Jesus. To the left, in the other top light is a design which is intended to indicate God the Father, and the centre light of the rose depicts the Holy Spirit. There are twelve remaining round lights, which remind us of the twelve Apostles. Inside them are seven lights, each with two separate designs. In them, we can see the seven corporal works of mercy and the seven spiritual works of mercy. Between the round lights and the inner seven lights are seven red-coloured lights which speak to us of the seven-fold Spirit of God. Around the edge of the window are tiny blue lights, not visible in this photograph, in which we may see ourselves, called to go out, empowered by the Holy Spirit, in the love of Christ, to engage in spiritual and corporal works of mercy; bringing the love of God to all people.

The Seven-fold Spirit of God

  • Wisdom
  • Understanding
  • Right Judgement
  • Courage
  • Knowledge
  • Reverence
  • Wonder and awe in the presence of God

Corporal Works of Mercy

  • Feeding the hungry
  • Giving drink to the thirsty
  • Clothing the naked
  • Visiting the sick
  • Ministering to prisoners
  • Burying the dead

Spiritual Works of Mercy

  • Converting the sinner
  • Instructing the ignorant
  • Strengthening the doubtful
  • Comforting the sorrowful
  • Bearing wrongs patiently
  • Forgiving injuries
  • Praying for the living and the dead